Client Feedback

An Interview With Morley Wilson

Another one of our past clients, Morley Wilson, a current employee of eXPRS Business Services, took sometime to talk to us about her journey with MicroSkills and why he enjoyed his time with us.

MorleyWilson

MicroSkills:
Briefly tell us about your story before you found MicroSkills.

Morley Wilson:
I was unemployed and recovering from a disease called spinal stenosis.  Out of work for about a five-year-span because of the pain I suffered from this disease I was feeling hopeless and empty at the same time.  The feeling of not contributing to society as much as I wanted to had left me disheartened.  It was my visit to Shoppers World and the discovery of MicroSkills that I began to activate my faith.  I took hold of courage and ventured out in taking the Self-Employment Training (SET) at MicroSkills.  The rest is history in the making.

MicroSkills:
How did you hear about MicroSkills?

Morley Wilson:
I was invited by a friend to go to Shoppers Word Mall one Sunday afternoon. We parked the car at the north-west corner and entered the mall from that entrance where MicroSkills signage met me. I stopped, took the name down and when I got home I researched the name from my computer.  I was impressed by the volume and quality of services that one such organization offered. Since that investigation MicroSkills is a fixed vocabulary of inspiration.

MicroSkills:
What made you finally decide to come to MicroSkills?

Morley Wilson:
For me it was a number of components, as there were many attention-grabbers, namely: the MicroSkills’ vision and mission, programs, success stories, and equally intriguing was the rich history from 1984 to 2013 when I researched the organization.  I would be a fool not to want to be a part of such a fixed-institution after I read numerous success stories that offered hope in a time when I had so many disparities.

MicroSkills:
What are some of the skills you would say MicroSkills helped you develop?

Morley Wilson:
MicroSkills  practiced what they preached.  Coupled with the partnership of its valuable staff members, they worked hard to ensure that the institution provided a safe and caring environment for every student. It is a place where I/we can be open and honest without being judged.  What is apparent is the fact that respect and diversity for all is weaved in the fabric of MicroSkills.  I developed skills such as sales, marketing, finance and accounting, etc. I also improved my soft-skills in the following: patience, building relationships, time management, mentorship and the accompanying guidelines. I now have built a relationship with my mentor that will last a lifetime.

MicroSkills:
What would you like to see MicroSkills improve on in the coming years?

Morley Wilson:
This is the inequality that I would like to see improved, but I also know that MicroSkills does not have the funds based on the fact that they received funding to run these programs. Most students who took the Self-Employment Program were there for one reason, to become business owners. I, however am aware that funding the student is a difficult one for MicroSkills to do. I am suggesting that for the for the coming year MicroSkills could look at putting in place a small “Grant Funding” to help the SET students get their businesses off the ground.

MicroSkills:
What’s one thing you wouldn’t change about MicroSkills?

Morley Wilson:
It is a simple question, but a difficult one to get my head around, as there are so many things I would not change about MicroSkills. Therefore, the question should not be limited to one thing but rather a number of components. Let me try — one thing — I would not change is the method of how MicroSkills offer their training in the Self-Employment Program. By using first-class trained professionals who are also business owners to teach, this mode or system is equivalent to a hands-on approach, which is a very useful structure and practice from students to business owners.

P.S. MicroSkills paid staff at Brampton campus are the best in the business. Loved them all.

Leave a comment