Client Feedback

An Interview With Peter Peng

Our recent client and present PepsiCo Foods Canada employee, Peter Peng, took sometime to speak about his journey with MicroSkills and how he thinks it helped him and how it can continue to properly server the community and help to build better futures.

Peter Peng

MicroSkills:
Briefly tell us about your story before you found MicroSkills
.

Peter Peng:
I landed in Toronto and felt a bit of frustration and little bit of helplessness, because I didn’t know anyone in Canada. It took me a couple of weeks to figure out the application process for various cards such as Health and SIN. I also found it very difficult to rent an apartment because I didn’t have a job or a co-signer. Everything seemed so difficult, and what made things even worse was the fact that people couldn’t understand my English through my thick accent.

MicroSkills:
How did you hear about MicroSkills?

 Peter Peng:
It was actually a big coincidence. While I was living in a family hotel I mentioned that I wanted to improve my English and find a job to another tenant and she said she was taking classes at MicroSkills and invited me to join.

MicroSkills:
What made you finally decide to come to MicroSkills?

Peter Peng:
I was very impressed by MicroSkills’ friendly staff. I was also excited by the amount of programs, workshops, and English Courses I read about in the introductory info books beside the reception.

I was most fortunate to meet the beautiful and nice Nina, who made an appointment with me to review my CV and give good suggestions on which workshops to go to at MicroSkills. I was given great ideas for my CV as well as how to approach potential job positions and interview skills and tips.

The fact that all of the employees I met tried to help me with all of their hearts; not only with programs but with life lessons, made it easy to come to MicroSkills without hesitation.

MicroSkills:
What are some of the skills you would say MicroSkills helped you develop?

 Peter Peng:
The first skill MicroSkills helped me develop was working with me on my English. I used to be so frustrated speaking English and most people couldn’t understand what I was saying.

At present I am able to comfortably communicate in English internally and externally at my job as the senior scientist on staff.

MicroSkills also introduced me to and made sure I was acclimated to Canadian Culture. More importantly, how multicultural Canada can be. Through the Work Place English program, I not only learned about the culture within the workplace but the everyday Toronto life. I also got to learn this country’s history, and information on the government.

I really appreciated how the staff helped me feel comfortable asking for help.

The most important job related help I got was how to approach potential interviews, how to make cold calls/visits, how to compose Canadian style CVs, and how to carry myself in a Canadian interview

MicroSkills:
What would you like to see MicroSkills improve on in the coming years?

Peter Peng:
If possible, I’d like to see MicroSkills cooperate with some more companies and provide some intern opportunities to the new and qualified immigrants. Having the opportunity to learn from a student’s internship would also be beneficial for incoming students.

MicroSkills:
What’s one thing you wouldn’t change about MicroSkills?

Peter Peng:
The Job Search Workshops and Work Place English programs are the most important for new immigrants who intend on improving their language skills and find a job.

Leave a comment