Client Feedback

An Interview With Elizabeth Tuntevska

Our past client, Elizabeth Tuntevska, took time out from the business she started herself, Ladybug Gardening to answer some questions about why she likes MicroSkills and how it helped her become self sufficient.

30th Anniversary

MicroSkills:
Briefly Tell us about your story before you found MicroSkills.

Elizabeth Tuntevska:
I was employed in a job that was not going anywhere and I was very unhappy. I knew I needed a change and that I loved the outdoors but I did not know what do to about it. I was looking through the local paper in Etobicoke (Guardian) and there was an ad about the Horticulture program at Humber College coming up…and as they say, the rest is history. I took the program which was full-time and stepped down from my position; still had to work because I am on my own but did it.

MicroSkills:
How did you hear about MicroSkills?

Elizabeth Tuntevska:
I only heard of Microskills because I was accepted into the Pre-Apprenticeship program at Humber. I was not aware of its existence. Microskills was a very relevant part of my program and only then did I became aware of what a vital role it played in my new career and future development.

MicroSkills:
What made you finally decide to come to MicroSkills?

Elizabeth Tuntevska:
First, the location was 15 minutes from where I was living at the time. Secondly, a wonderful lady, Rodica Lefter, who taught resume building, interview skills, etc. in my class, informed us all about Microskills and what was available to us. Her compassion and support is what made me want to learn, understand and become involved in a program(s) that truly worked in order to change people’s lives.

MicroSkills:
What are some of the skills you would say MicroSkills helped you develop?

Elizabeth Tuntevska:
MicroSkills helped me improve my resume, cover letters, interview skills, etc. It also opened me up to many resources I did not know existed but most importantly it built my self-esteem and empowered me (even more so).

MicroSkills:
What would you like to see MicroSkills improve on in the coming years?

Elizabeth Tuntevska:
I would like to see Microskills everywhere! More advertising so people are aware of the help available to them. I stumbled onto Microskills due to the program I was in-prior to that, I knew nothing of Microskills. I also believe that more accessible locations would be beneficial as well as the time that programs are offered; many programs take place during working or school hours and it is many times impossible to attend if you obviously need to be elsewhere. Finally, online courses, I think would be great so that people can learn on their own time. Examples of some courses may be business courses and how to build a business, business plans, financing, etc.

MicroSkills:
What’s one thing you wouldn’t change about MicroSkills?

Elizabeth Tuntevska:
I would not change whatever the criteria is for the staff that works there-meaning Microskills has implemented a standard to hire qualified, caring, compassionate people and they are doing exactly that. That should never change.

Leave a comment